NAQT Illinois State Championship

NAQT State uses an adapted form of NAQT rules. Please read our IHSSBCA Tournament Policies and our guidelines for coaches, players, game officials, and tournament hosts.

The NAQT State invitations are sent to qualifying teams in the winter

The NAQT State Championship Tournament will be held at Centennial High School (Champaign) on March 1, 2025.

What is NAQT State?

The NAQT State Championship was established in 2005 to provide a robust tournament experience for the best teams in Illinois. Unlike other state tournaments, NAQT State does not restrict teams based on geography.


The 20th annual NAQT Illinois State Championship will be held on March 1, 2025 at Centennial High School in Champaign, Illinois.


Teams qualify for NAQT State by finishing in the top 25% of the field (rounded up) at any tournament that allows all schools in attendance to use their top players. The top Class A team at each invitational, as long as it finishes in the top half of the field, also qualifies for NAQT State. Teams may also appeal via wildcard bids to the tournament coordinator. Contact Brad Fischer with questions about qualification or registration.


The entry fee is $100 per team. Schools are expected to bring a working buzzer system and a staffer for the tournament. Contact the tournament host if you are unable to bring a buzzer or staffer.


The NAQT State Championship uses NAQT’s SCT Division II question set.


The name of each winner of the NAQT State Championship is engraved on the base of the William and Janet Egan Memorial Trophy, a traveling trophy that is kept in each champion school during the year after their victory. The highest-placing small school, determined by the NAQT definition of small schools, is recognized as each tournament’s Small School Champion.

Previous State Champions

2024: Buffalo Grove, 32 teams
2023: Buffalo Grove, 30 teams
2022: Buffalo Grove, 20 teams
2020: University Lab (Urbana), 32 teams
2019: Auburn (Rockford), 30 teams
2018: University Lab (Urbana) A, 30 teams
2017: Adlai E. Stevenson (Lincolnshire) A, 30 teams
2016: Auburn (Rockford) A, 40 teams
2015: Auburn (Rockford) A, 36 teams
2014: Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy (Aurora) A, 40 teams
2013: Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy (Aurora), 28 teams
2012: Auburn (Rockford) A, 24 teams
2011: Adlai E. Stevenson (Lincolnshire), 17 teams
2010: Auburn (Rockford), 18 teams
2009: Auburn (Rockford), 12 teams
2008: Auburn (Rockford), 9 teams
2007: New Trier (Winnetka), 8 teams
2006: Adlai E. Stevenson (Lincolnshire), 12 teams
2005: Adlai E. Stevenson (Lincolnshire),  9 teams

Previous Small School/Class A Champions

2024: University Lab (Urbana), 9 small school teams
2023: University Lab (Urbana), 7 small school teams
2022: University Lab (Urbana), 6 small school teams
2020: University Lab (Urbana), 9 small school teams
2019: University Lab (Urbana)
2018: University Lab (Urbana), 11 small school teams
2017: Southwestern (Piasa), 6 small school teams
2016: Macomb A, 7 Small School teams
2015: Macomb A, 8 Small School teams
2014: Litchfield, 7 Small School teams
2013: Peoria Christian, 3 Class A teams